The balance of power on the Port Washington Common Council tilted slightly thanks to the results of the spring election.

In the ity of Port Washington, two district seats were up for grabs while topics such as the future of the Blues Factory and other projects linger in the community.

Incumbent Dan Becker was defeated by John Sigwart by a margin of 72-27 percent for the District 7 seat, while Michael Gasper defeated fellow newcomer Don Cosentine by a margin of 63-30 percent for the District 3 seat. Sigwart and Gasper expressed contrasting views regarding these city projects.

"John and I may very well be in the minority on the council when it comes to these developments," said Gasper. "The results of this election show that there are people in this city who wish for something different at the Blues Factory site, and I hope that we can help the other council members reconsider their positions."

In the town of Cedarburg, incumbent Wayne Pipkorn defeated challenger Bill Wattson for seat 1 on the town board with 72 percent of the vote.

Incumbent Karron Stockwell was re-elected and will be joined by newcomer Paul Melotik on the Grafton Town Board, with each candidate garnering almost 34 percent of the vote each.

In the town of Port Washington, incumbent Mike Didier (with 40 percent of the vote) was re-elected and will be joined by newcomer Gary Schlenvogt (33 percent) on the town board.

In the city of Cedarburg, incumbent Patricia Thome defeated Douglas Yip 72-28 percent for the District 6 seat on the common council.

Incumbent Mark Gierl defeated Abby Thompson for the District 5 seat on the Mequon Common Council with 56 percent of the vote.

In the Grafton School District, incumbent Paul Lorge (with 21 percent of the vote) was re-elected and will be joined by newcomers Carrie Walls (21 percent) and Steve Nauta (20 percent) on the school board.

Incumbent Wendy Francour (with 41 percent of the vote) was re-elected and will be joined by Krista Brookman (39 percent) on the Mequon-Thiensville School Board.

In the Port Washington-Saukville School District, incumbent Brian McCutcheon defeated Aaron Paulin with 51 percent of the vote, while incumbent Sara McCutcheon defeated Scott Fischer with 58 percent of the vote for two seats on the school board.

Read or Share this story: