The Cedarburg Cultural Center, in partnership with the Ozaukee County Art Committee, has announced the winners of the 70th annual Ozaukee County Art Show, which runs through Sunday, April 30.

The exhibit features artworks from 70 adult artists and 120 from Ozaukee high schools, alongside a “Gallery of Student Art,” featuring 300 works from Cedarburg’s public and parochial elementary and middle schools: First Immanuel Lutheran, Parkview, St. Francis Borgia, Thorson, Webster Transitional and Westlawn, for 490 pieces on display in a variety of media.

From the adult professional division, ribbons were awarded to: Catherine Jautz Bailey (Mequon), Erin Callahan Blum (Grafton), Diane Carlson (Cedarburg), William K. Davis (Thiensville), Paula DeStefanis (Grafton), Marcia Gorra-Patek (Mequon), Mark Hargarten (Cedarburg), Pam Higgins (Port Washington), Mary Ulm Mayhew (Newburg), Jack Pachuta (Cedarburg), Jewell Riano-Bradley (Mequon), Jim Selle (West Bend), Krystle Marie Smith (Mequon) and Paul Yank (Cedarburg).

Professional division artists are categorized as having two or more years of training and/or earning part or all of their income through art sales. All adult artists are required to reside, teach or work in Ozaukee County.

In the adult amateur division, ribbons were awarded to: Timothy Bailey (Grafton), Renee Blaubach (Grafton), Sue Cibulka (Cedarburg), John Edgar (Hubertus) and Carol Jushka (Port Washington).

From the student division, ribbons were awarded to Megan Asplin, Emily Bewalda, Sarah Fahrendorf, Emma Gleed, Kevin Glomski, Nichole Golownia, Samantha Grady, Anya Human, Tristan Reid, Grace Wroblewski and Erin Zietlow of Cedarburg High School.

From Grafton High School, Sophia De La Pasqua, Clare Pederson and Audrey Schaut were awarded ribbons.

Ribbons winners from Homestead High School included: Alyssa Bokotey, Jackson Buraczewski, Olivia Herzog, Cade Marshall-Bowman, Sophie Ng, Joey Pietrowiak, Rachael Short and Katie Tye.

From Port Washington High School, Adrianna Covert, Emily Jacque, Miranda Larsson, Nolan Olson and Kate Snook were recognized as award winners.

Works included in the student division were selected by art faculty members of Ozaukee County high schools.

The exhibition was judged by Diane Berndt, who has a bachelor’s degree in art education and a master’s degree in art therapy. She has presented at various conferences, owned a local art studio, and supervised student teachers in art, as well as art therapists. She has taught art for the past 36 years in the Mequon-Thiensville School District, where she has been teacher of the year and the recipient of several grants to enrich her art program. She is also a docent at the Milwaukee Art Museum.

The exhibit opened with a public reception Sunday, April 2.

Read or Share this story: