The Ozaukee Chorus has awarded five students, one from each high school in Ozaukee County, with a $1,000 scholarship each for their efforts to further their musical education. The following students have been selected as winners for the annual award: Georgina Miller, junior at Homestead High School; Shelby Zang, senior at Cedarburg High School; Erin Hogan, senior at Grafton High School; Elliot DeMerit, senior at Port Washington High School; and Nicholas Shininger, senior at Ozaukee High School. Each recipient was selected after displaying excellence in the field of music and has intentions of pursuing further their education in the musical field.

The scholarship recipients will participate in the Ozaukee Chorus spring concert, “America in Song,” at 7 p.m. Thursday, May 4. The students will perform with the choir on a few songs during the concert, which will consist of traditional folk and patriotic pieces. The concert will be held at the Grafton High School auditorium, 1950 Washington St., Grafton. Tickets are $8 each for general admission. Children ages 12 and younger are free. The concert will be interpreted for the hearing impaired.

The Ozaukee Chorus is a non-profit organization that has been together since 1975. Its purpose is to promote the advancement of choral music education. Since 2008, the Ozaukee Chorus has awarded more than $48,000 in scholarships.

Read or Share this story: